📱

Read on Your E-Reader

Thousands of readers get articles like this delivered straight to their Kindle or Boox. New articles arrive automatically.

Learn More

This is a preview. The full article is published at espn.com.

Lions own loss after late OPI calls: 'It's on us'

Lions own loss after late OPI calls: 'It's on us'

By Eric Woodyard and Brooke Pryorwww.espn.com - TOP

Eric Woodyard Close Eric Woodyard ESPN Eric Woodyard covers the Detroit Lions for ESPN. He joined ESPN in September 2019 as an NBA reporter dedicated to the Midwest region before switching to his current role in April 2021. The Flint, Mich. native is a graduate of Western Michigan University and has authored/co-authored three books: "Wasted," "Ethan's Talent Search" and "All In: The Kelvin Torbert Story". He is a proud parent of one son, Ethan. Brooke Pryor Close Brooke Pryor ESPN Staff Writer Brooke Pryor is a reporter for NFL Nation at ESPN who has covered the Pittsburgh Steelers since 2019. She previously covered the Kansas City Chiefs for the Kansas City Star and the University of Oklahoma for The Oklahoman. Dec 21, 2025, 11:02 PM ET DETROIT -- Still trying to process what just happened in the Lions' 29-24 loss to the Pittsburgh Steelers , a red-faced Dan Campbell refused to blame the officials after penalties negated two touchdowns that would've flipped the outcome of the game in the final 30 seconds of regulation. "We weren't able to close it out. And at the end of the day, that's on us," Campbell said of the loss, which likely ends Detroit's playoff hopes. "We did that. We're the ones who put ourselves in that position to where we had to try to score on the last play." On the final play of the game, a fourth-and-goal from the 9, Goff hit Amon-Ra St. Brown for a catch just short of the goal line before the star wide receiver flipped a lateral to Goff for what looked like a miracle, walk-off touchdown. However officials had thrown a flag before Goff crossed the goal line after St. Brown appeared to shove off Steelers cornerback Jalen Ramsey to break free before the initial catch. After a lengthy huddle, officials announced that St. Brown had committed offensive pass interference and that the game was over. The NFL applicable rule to the end of game scenario is Rule 4, Section 8, Article 2 (b). The rule reads, in part: "If there is a foul by the offense, there shall be no extension of the period. If the foul occurs on the last play of the half, a score by the offense is not counted." The penalty to end the game came just three plays after another touchdown caught by St. Brown was negated by a offensive pass interference call against Lions rookie WR Isaac TeSlaa . Goff echoed his coach's stance of taking ownership for the loss, but admitted he felt the penalty against TeSlaa was a "bad call." "[The officials] have a hard job, and I don't want to make any excuses or anything like that. We've been on the right side of a lot of these, and we've been on the wrong side on a lot of these," said Goff, who threw for 364 yards and three touchdowns. "I think a few plays prior, the one on TeSlaa was a little bit more in...

Preview: ~500 words

Continue reading at Espn

Read Full Article

More from www.espn.com - TOP

Subscribe to get new articles from this feed on your e-reader.

View feed

This preview is provided for discovery purposes. Read the full article at espn.com. LibSpace is not affiliated with Espn.

Lions own loss after late OPI calls: 'It's on us' | Read on Kindle | LibSpace